Thursday, August 14, 2008


Next BIG Nashville Music Festival and Conference announced the initial lineup for its 3rd annual event this week, illustrating the diversity of Nashville's music scene as well as the many ways that the city is tied to the international music community. 

This year NBN will host several indie label showcases from Skybucket (Birmingham, AL), Grand Palace (Murfreesboro, TN), Chicken Ranch (Austin, TX), and Infinity Cat (Nashville), as well as showcases from music organizations such as Nettwerk Management, NSAI, Lake Fever Productions, ASCAP, BMI, SESAC and Mr. Lemons Studio. 

As one might expect from the songwriting capital of the world, the NBN '08 lineup includes a wide variety of singer-songwriters from all genres including rising stars Jeremy Lister (Warner Bros.), Erin McCarley (Universal Republic), Matthew Perryman Jones, Andy Davis, Courtney Jaye (Universal Republic), Madi Diaz, Katie Herzig, Tyler James and Megan McCormick, along with respected Nashville names such as Matthew Ryan, David Mead and Butterfly Boucher. "Ten Out of Tenn," the live touring showcase companion to the CD compilation featuring Boucher, Jones, Herzig, McCarley, James, Davis, Griffin House, KS Rhoads and Trent Dabbs, will close the conference on Saturday night at the Cannery Ballroom.  

In addition to the array of Music City talent on display this year the NBN 08 lineup also offers performances by acclaimed regional artists such as Dead Confederate, The Bridges, Neva Geoffrey, The Dexateens, Sons of Roswell, The Howlies, Cory Branan and Royal Bangs. Nashville’s internationally respected indie scene, which counts among its members Lambchop, Silver Jews and David Vandervelde among others is well represented with performances by Cortney Tidwell, Ferraby Lionheart, JEFF The Brotherhood, Kyle Andrews, How I Became the Bomb, Magic Wands, Paper Route (Universal Motown), Superdrag, Paper Rival (Atlantic) and others.

And it wouldn't be Nashville if we didn't have a little twang in there! NBN '08 offers a spotlight for a variety of diverse country-influenced artists such as Caitlin Rose, Danger Bear, Chris Janson, Joey & Rory, Whispertown 2000 (the first signing to Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings' Acony label), Sarah Siskind, Glossary and more. 

Over 50 more artists will be announced in the coming weeks. For the full initial artist list of over 150 confirmed participating acts, go to

Press inquiries and requests, please contact

NBN Media Relations /  


1 comment:

yewknee said...

can we get the schedule already? Aug 25th was the announcement day I believe.